LONDON IN 4 DAYS

… I haven’t been here for a while. Busy w. work, gym and travels I guess.

I was in London for 4 days, end of May which I really enjoyed. In Sweden, we celebrate Mothers Day last sunday in May so thought we would celebrate this with a trip to London. I have only been there once before but it was a couple of years ago and during winter and I wanted to experience it when its sunshine and just a bit warmer weather 😀

4 days in London was just nice enough to see the main attractions. We stayed at Hilton by Canary Wharf which I found super nice and location was great for us. There are 2 lines (Jubilee and DLR train) very close to that hotel which made it really easy to reach inner London city quickly. There was also a really nice breakfast place nearby called Bar One which we absolutely loved.

1st day we took the hop on hop off bus and looked around a bit the main attractions. I do enjoy taking those hop on hop off buses. I think it is a nice way to see all the touristy stuff and then if I want to explore more I just hop off. During the evening I had 2 tickets for Phantom of the Opera at Her Majesty´s Theatre which was simply extraordinary. It is quite a small theatre which I loved and the voices by entire cast were amazing. Truly recommend to everyone who likes musicals. This is a must.

2nd day we were on foot. We went to see Big Ben, Westminister Abbey, Houses of Parliament, 10 Downing Street, Trafalgar Square and the list goes on. Buckingham Palace is super impressive every time.

We were so lucky with the weather. It was sunny and warm. Energy in the city was great and loads of people out. I had served a table at the Ivy later during the evening and we had delicious dinner. Its a bit more expensive but so good.

3rd day we went to have some fish´n´chips by Piccadilly Circus and then over to Hyde park and Green park. We took the boat on Thames from the Westminister to the Tower. It was a really fun experience due to the staff on the boat. They were hilarious. We saw London Eye, Tate modern, OXO and London Bridge, Tower bridge and Shakespeares Globe Theatre amongst others. Also headed back on London bridge to take the tube back.

4th Day and our last day, was spent to see St Pauls Cathedral which was also one highlight of the trip. It is marvellous. Walked to Tower of London and then over London Bridge to Borough Market to have some food.

Overall it was a great long weekend and everything went so smooth which I am always thankful for.

 

Leave a Reply

